Sadly, the journalist Anthony Shadid passed away all too sudden. It brought a bit of sudden stress on me, not because I know him anything beyond through his columns, but his very vey recent interview on NPR/KPBS radio is still reverberating in my ear and the death has become all too soon to cope with. A fantastic journalist as he always has been, he was often beyond that and largely the window of the middle east to the world, for sure to me. Through his reporting, I still feel as though I knew him very personally. His reflection from Libya, in spite of the horror he had to go through during the dictatorship has always been remarkable.

Now when I start my car to work, when the San Diego FM radio KPBS kicks on, the Terry Gross interview with Shadid on Fresh Air is still ringing. Boy, he was talking about tracing his ancestral village in Lebanon and so on. My mind transcend quickly to my mothers ancestral village in the serene riverside in Kerala. Rest in piece Shadid. Thanks for the sacrifices in reporting the middle east woes and sharing their pain.