Martin Gardner‘s 95-th Birth day today. I dont think any other soul can claim to own the legacy of aspiring enthusiasm, among children and adults alike, on the subject of mathematics, in the most interesting and playful mode; Recreational mathematics transcended to newer heights thanks to Gardner’s amazing production of puzzles and games. A philosopher by education and a Navy man by profession, Gardner’s transition post World War II is something worth a story telling! I was (still remain so) a huge fan of Gardner ever since romping on to his old articles in the Scientific American volumes, which I greedily grabbed from NIT Calicut library. There was a time (in the pre internet and digital era) when I used to maintain a notebook of Martin Gardner puzzles, where I had handwritten the riddles and games. It is incredible to know that he is still active and steaming. Thank you Martin Gardner for spurring enthusiasm to many a generations. His “Colossal book of mathematics” is one of the worthy possessions in my library!

Many many happy returns of the day Martin. NY times has a nice page published on his birthday!