Through Anand Sarwate’s blog and this piece from Sergio Verdu, I came to know that  the well known Information and Coding theorist Jim Massey has passed away. I don’t have any direct personal recollection of Massey, other than seeing him once at an Information theory workshop and also last year at the Marconi award ceremony at Irvine. The one thing I always remember (besides the Berlekamp Massey algorithm and transform decoding paper) is his notes at ETH. I have enormously benefited from his lecture notes on Cryptography when I was trying to learn the topic at EPFL. So lucid, crisp and intuitive were his scribes. How I always wished to sit in one of his live lectures! RIP!

I am sure detailed writing on his life and work will appear at some point. I recall Rudi Urbanke once mentioned the early impact of Massey’s work (as a graduate student ?) on threshold decoding of convolutional code, having spurred interest in industry.  Codex corporation (to which, he was a co-founder, I learned recently.) once wanted to implement it into their line modems. Not sure whether I have all the details intact here, but prior to the Viterbi algorithm, his threshold decoding scheme must have been a big hit in communication! To have industry interested in a graduate student work must be special, any day, anywhere!

In his blog  Sergio Verdu, has pointed to the IEEE oral history interview archive, which I happened to read last year almost same time.

Info theory website has further details including the funeral info.

If you have not seen this yet, a fascinating talk (Cryptography- Science or Magic) he did at MIT several years ago, is archived here. Boy! who did the speaker introduction? Another true connoisseur Peter Elias! First time, I saw a video of Elias.